Nancy Williams

    • 3706 Citations
    • 35 h-Index
    1992 …2020

    Research output per year

    If you made any changes in Pure these will be visible here soon.

    Research Output

    • 3706 Citations
    • 35 h-Index
    • 84 Article
    • 13 Review article
    • 6 Letter
    Filter
    Review article
    2019

    Female athlete triad and relative energy deficiency in sport: A focus on scientific rigor

    Williams, N. I., Koltun, K. J., Strock, N. C. A. & De Souza, M. J., Oct 1 2019, In : Exercise and Sport Sciences Reviews. 47, 4, p. 197-205 9 p.

    Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

    3 Scopus citations

    Rethinking the concept of an energy availability threshold and its role in the Female Athlete Triad

    De Souza, M. J., Koltun, K. J., Strock, N. CA. & Williams, N. I., Aug 2019, In : Current Opinion in Physiology. 10, p. 35-42 8 p.

    Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

    3 Scopus citations
    Open Access
    3 Scopus citations

    What is the evidence for a Triad-like syndrome in exercising men?

    De Souza, M. J., Koltun, K. J. & Williams, N. I., Aug 2019, In : Current Opinion in Physiology. 10, p. 27-34 8 p.

    Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

    2018

    "Core stability": Should there be a bigger focus on foundational skills in the kinesiology curriculum?

    Braun, B., Williams, N., Garber, C. E. & Hickey, M., Nov 1 2018, In : Kinesiology Review. 7, 4, p. 295-299 5 p.

    Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

    2017

    Female Athlete Triad: Future Directions for Energy Availability and Eating Disorder Research and Practice

    Williams, N. I., Statuta, S. M. & Austin, A., Oct 2017, In : Clinics in Sports Medicine. 36, 4, p. 671-686 16 p.

    Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

    4 Scopus citations
    2014

    Misunderstanding the female athlete triad: Refuting the IOC consensus statement on relative energy deficiency in sport (RED-S)

    De Souza, M. J., Williams, N. I., Nattiv, A., Joy, E., Misra, M., Loucks, A. B., Matheson, G., Olmsted, M. P., Barrack, M., Mallinson, R. J., Gibbs, J. C., Goolsby, M., Nichols, J. F., Drinkwater, B., Sanborn, C., Agostini, R., Otis, C. L., Johnson, M. D., Hoch, A. Z., Alleyne, J. M. K. & 14 others, Wadsworth, L. T., Koehler, K., Van Heest, J., Harvey, P., Kelly, A. K. W., Fredericson, M., Brooks, G. A., O'Donnell, E., Callahan, L. R., Putukian, M., Costello, L., Hecht, S., Rauh, M. J. & McComb, J., Oct 1 2014, In : British journal of sports medicine. 48, 20, p. 1461-1465 5 p.

    Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

    34 Scopus citations
    2013

    Prevalence of individual and combined components of the female athlete triad

    Gibbs, J. C., Williams, N. I. & De Souza, M. J., May 1 2013, In : Medicine and science in sports and exercise. 45, 5, p. 985-996 12 p.

    Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

    94 Scopus citations
    2011

    Obstacles in the optimization of bone health outcomes in the female athlete triad

    Ducher, G., Turner, A. I., Kukuljan, S., Pantano, K. J., Carlson, J. L., Williams, N. I. & De Souza, M. J., Jun 27 2011, In : Sports Medicine. 41, 7, p. 587-607 21 p.

    Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

    47 Scopus citations
    2009

    Oligomenorrhoea in exercising women: A polycystic ovarian syndrome phenotype or distinct entity?

    Awdishu, S., Williams, N. I., Laredo, S. E. & De Souza, M. J., Nov 17 2009, In : Sports Medicine. 39, 12, p. 1055-1069 15 p.

    Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

    7 Scopus citations
    2004
    107 Scopus citations
    2002

    Leptin and the skeleton

    Whipple, T., Sharkey, N., Demers, L. & Williams, N., Dec 1 2002, In : Clinical Endocrinology. 57, 6, p. 701-711 11 p.

    Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

    36 Scopus citations
    2000

    The role of exercise in the prevention and treatment of osteoporosis and osteoarthritis.

    Sharkey, N. A., Williams, N. I. & Guerin, J. B., Mar 2000, In : The Nursing clinics of North America. 35, 1, p. 209-221 13 p.

    Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

    33 Scopus citations