Mathematically significant: A review of awards in mathematics with emphasis on the fields medal

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

1 Scopus citations


There are several major international awards in the field of mathematics. Arguably the most prestigious of these is the Fields Medal, which has been awarded to fifty-one mathematicians since 1936. This article will examine aspects of the Fields Medal winners such as age, nationality, affiliated institution upon award, area of work, and the impact of their publications in the mathematics literature. MathSciNet author profiles were examined to collect both publication and citation data for this study. Several other awards in mathematics, including the Wolf Prize, Abel Prize, and Kyoto Prize, are also discussed.

Original languageEnglish (US)
Pages (from-to)32-45
Number of pages14
JournalScience and Technology Libraries
Issue number1
StatePublished - Jan 1 2012


All Science Journal Classification (ASJC) codes

  • Library and Information Sciences

Cite this